Postcodes: GU21, GU22, GU23, GU24
The borough of Woking was formed in 1895 and is located in the West of Surrey. It has a rich architectural heritage and boasts a Tudor Palace, historic waterways and Britain’s first Mosque. In 2007 the gallery and museum ‘the Lightbox’, was opened. Located between the town centre and Basingstoke Canal, the development was designed by Marks Barfield Architects (the creators of the London Eye). The introduction of the railways to the area in 1838 provided links to London, making the borough attractive to live in for those who wanted easy access to the capital.
The main areas in Woking are: Byfleet, West Byfleet, Pyrford, Goldsworth Park, Horsell, Knaphill, Brookwood, Maybury, Mayford, Mount Hermon, St Johns, Hook Heath, Old Woking, King Field, Westfield, Sheerwater, Woodham and Woking Town Centre.